Kim Moon

Kim Moon, Administrative Support Coordinator II, Kinesiology and Recreation Administration
 

How long have you worked for HSU? 
Almost 11 years…

Tell us about your family…
My son Michael (6), my parents are Earl & Katherine Moon (who works in Wildlife and Fisheries Biology,) and I have one older brother, Jimi he has 5 sons; Jimi (13), Earl (11), Alanzo (10), Eychkwo (4), & Teyk-Tah (1) :).

What are your favorite TV shows? 
ESPN,  Big Bang Theory, Modern Family,

What is your favorite music/song?
I like all kinds of music, but mostly country and r & b

What is your favorite food/local restaurant?
Italian / Ivanhoe in Ferndale

What kinds of books do you like? Do you have a favorite author?
I’m reading Soulless (Gail Carriger) right now…Don’t really have a favorite author

What is your favorite place in Humboldt County? 
Probably a tie between Strawberry Rock and Moonstone Beach

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would it be?
Italy!

What are your hobbies?
Reading very old poetry, watching my nephews & son grow :)

Are you involved in any community groups/service projects?
I worked for Bear River Casino for many years, where we would help many local business/writing grants, etc.

What do you do when you’re not at work?
I run around taking my nephews & son to basketball/football/baseball practice & games, and love watching sports & watching them play.  When I get free time I try to pamper myself with sweets like ice cream or Ultimate Yogurt, Pedicures and shopping.

What is your favorite place to go on campus during your lunchtime?
I don’t usually take a lunch, but if I was able to I like it near Founders – I wish it was possible to take a nap after lunch- that would be ideal!

What is one thing people would be surprised to hear about you?
I am Chinese.  My last name is Chinese (google Charlie Moon…!)

Where are you from and what brought you to Humboldt?
I am a Humboldt native,  born and raised in McKinleyville.  In my opinion , HSU is by far one of the best places to work :)