Bre Clark

Bre Clark, Program Coordinator, Center Activities

How long have you worked for HSU?

I started working for Center Activities in 2009 as a Seasonal Guide in the Outdoor Program and then began guiding for the Summer Youth Aquatics Camps that same year and have done it every year since. It wasn’t until this past September that I decided to officially resettle in Arcata and took a job as the Leisure and Recreation Program Coordinator at Center Activities.

Where did you work before coming to HSU?

Since Graduating from HSU in 2008, I have had a fair amount of different jobs, all outdoor or recreation related. I worked seasonally for 5 years with an Outdoor Education company called Naturalists at Large. I spent my time traveling the beautiful state of California backpacking, rock climbing, sea kayaking, snorkeling and canoeing with kids while teaching them about the beauty of the natural world within our state.

Where do you live now and where else have you lived?

Right now I live in a small 2 bedroom historic house in Arcata. I have lived in many towns including Ventura, Tahoe City, Bellingham WA, and most recently Oakland CA. I grew up in San Diego California.

Tell us about your family…

All of my immediate family and most of my extended family live in San Diego. I have two sisters who are both married and one has a young daughter who has the same birth mark as me. She is my favorite (and only official) niece!  We have many close friends who are practically family in San Diego as well. In this group there are many more nieces and nephews (mostly girls) who I love just as much as their parents. My family is very close with me and it can be difficult to be so far away but it makes it all the more special when I make the trek to visit.

What is your favorite TV show?

Doctor Who

What is your favorite music/song?

I love Blue Grass and folky music. I like anything I can learn on my Ukulele.

What is your favorite food or local restaurant?

I never turn down Thai food and you can often find me at Rita’s.

What kinds of books do you like? Do you have a favorite author?

I love nature writings and fiction. My favorite author is Barbra Kingsolver and I shamelessly love Harry Potter.

What is your favorite place in Humboldt County?

I would have to say Moonstone Beach. I spend a lot of time there surfing or climbing or just hanging out with friends. In terms of Arcata, I LOVE the marsh. It is the best place to go for a walk alone or with a friend.

If you could go anywhere on vacation, where would it be?

Thailand or South America. Somewhere I could kayak, climb or surf.

What are your hobbies?

I love to whitewater kayak, play ukulele, paint, sew, make crafts, infuse spirits, hang out with friends, go for walks, bike ride, and mostly just have fun!

Are you involved in any community groups/service projects?

Not officially but I like to support the river alliances and other local organizations whenever possible.